PSImetals at ArcelorMittal Vega, Brazil

Automated line scheduling for a higher planning efficiency

To increase the productivity of the scheduling for several processing lines as well as to automatically consider economic and technical restrictions during scheduling in a standardised manner, ArcelorMittal decided for the implementation of the PSImetals Planning Line Scheduler.

Source: ArcelorMittal

The line scheduling of production lines from pickling and cold rolling to galvanising and batch annealing is now carried out more automated. The incorporationof PSImetals into the planning philosophy of ArcelorMittal Flat Carbon South America (FCSA) resulted in higher standardised planning processes.

The manufacturing of the hot rolled coils, delivered from ArcelorMittal Tubarão to ArcelorMittal Vega by ship, is characterized by the following processes. Via pickling the oxide layer from the surface of the hot-rolled coils is removed in a continuous process. Multiple strips are welded together and at the end of the pickling process, the edges of the strip steel are ground or cut to the specific sizes. Pickled coils are reduced in their thickness by cold rolling. After rolling, the coil can be treated in two different ways in accordance with the customer's requirements. By galvanising the coldrolled coils are coated with a fine zinc or iron-zinc layer to improve the steel's resistance to corrosion. Products which are not coated are batch annealed to restore the mechanical properties of the steel. Those products are finally skin pass rolled to correct the flatness and to adjust the desired roughness of the product.

Technical Challenges

The different production lines at ArcelorMittal Vega are very complex with certain technical restrictions including e.g. restrictions regarding the welding machine, the dimensions of the plant (deviations as to width, thickness and length), capacity of the ovens and others, which in turn create certain restrictions in the workflow. Furthermore product specifications reflect customer requirements, for example in terms of material type, surface quality and mechanical properties. To reconcile the plant restrictions with the customer requirements during scheduling, sequencing rules, socalled line programs, for each specific line are needed.

Former Scheduling Processes at Vega

The former programming of the production lines was made by spreadsheet processing in Excel with the help of the in-house production control system (GPAO). For that the information about the coils available for sequencing was imported from the GPAO database into Excel. Based on this data, the programmers manually sequence the materials taking account of the sequencing rules for each line. As there are no Excel system restrictions in connection with violation of the rules the programmers needed long-term experience to be able to create feasible line programs. After creation of the line programs, the programmer manually entered the data into the GPAO system: Coil by coil, in accordance with their sequence in Excel. Finally the GPAO system sent the line schedules to the level 2 systems as requirement for production. Both the manual sequencing and the manual data input were very time-consuming. As the entire understanding of the operating procedure was in the heads of the programmers this planning procedure was furthermore very error-prone and of minor productivity.

Targets & Project Methodology

The main objective of the project is the automation of the sequencing of ArcelorMittal Vega's production lines in the area of pickling/rolling, galvanising and batch annealing. With a new planning system based on the PSImetals Planning Line Scheduler the following targets shall be achieved:

  • Automatic observance of line specific and process-related restrictions during line programming (e. g.: widths, thicknesses, combination of materials based on quality and grade, maximal and minimal batch sizes for each order/each plant)
  • Enabling a priority-driven line scheduling with regard to efficiency, production and quality targets
  • Decision making support for the programmer regarding the identification of critical points (e. g. automatic warnings in case of rule violations)
  • Increase of the productivity of the production line sequencing team by an easier andfaster creation of line schedules, higher standardised processes and reduced manual interventions
  • Reduction of lead time, work in progress (WIP) and stock of finished products (FIP) as well as reduced scrapping
Plant-specific sequencing using the example of galvanisation
Plant-specific sequencing using the example of galvanisation. Source: AM Vega

The project was coordinated by the Integrated Design Process department with the involvement of ArcelorMittal Integrated Planning and Programming department and IT department. The project planning was managed using the DMADV method for the implementation of new products or processes (design for Six Sigma).

Realisation based on PSImetals

The PSImetals Planning Line Scheduler enables the scheduling of the production lines for different plants in metal production. Using PSImetals, the scheduler of ArcelorMittal Vega generate simulations and optimised lists of the materials to be processed for each line (cold rolling and pickling, galvanising 1 and 2, batch annealing) taking into account the specific sequencing rules per line. Internal software models reflect the rules and restrictions of production and assign evaluation criteria to them which act as weighting for their significance in the decision-making process. Thus it is possible to suggest an optimal sequence for the list of the coils to be produced.

For each line a specific system configuration was set up taking account of the specific characteristics:

  • Dimensions of the coils to be processed
  • Types of materials which the line can process
  • Physical restrictions of the plant
  • Operational regulations such as:

    • Priorities for delayed or premature orders (delay of X days or orders completed Y days prior)
    • Combination of coils that need to go through a subsequent process (e. g. Cutting of coil edges)
    • Combination of material types (e. g. production of materials with restrictions as to the surface quality before or after another type of material)

For the scheduling of the pickling and galvanising lines the user defines which line programme or which production section he wishes to simulate. PSImetals then provides an optimised sequence taking into account as many rules to be followed as possible. For the scheduling of the batch annealing line the planner defines the material quantity and the approximate number of batches to be produced. The system will then identify the best coil combinations.

For all lines PSImetals takes account of the technical and economic requirements and guides the scheduler in his decision-making. If rules or procedures are not complied, the system creates automatic warnings. Moreover, in a specific list view all critical rules are shown, which the sequencer has not complied with.

Various graphical user interfaces enable the user to analyse and change the list of the suggested coils if necessary:

  • View the quantity of planned materials.
  • View the quantity of materials available for programming.
  • Add, remove or exchange coils in simulations.
  • Define the production of one or several coils.
  • Create new simulations.

Once the planner has made all changes, he can release the schedules for processing.

The ArcelorMittal Vega plant is a flat carbon steel cold rolling, pickling and galvanising unit located at São Francisco do Sul, Brazil. Source: ArcelorMittal

Integration with the MES System

The production planning and control system GPAO (level 3) assumes the production control, location monitoring on yards and cranes as well material tracking including material planning, material control and quality monitoring. The system is integrated with the PSImetals Planning Line Scheduler as well as with the basic automation (Level 2) at ArcelorMittal Vega. PSImetals receives the coils available for planning from GPAO, optimises their sequence and sends back optimised line schedules. These schedules can be displayed and monitored as well as directly changed by the user in the GPAO system. The user can also change the production sequence of simulated materials or cancel it. Cancelled coils are then available for programming in PSImetals again.

Achieved results

With the implementation of the PSImetals Planning Line Scheduler the generation of line schedules was highly automated, systematised and standardised. By the fastened generation of lines schedules more time can be spent for the quality analysis of the programs itself. The reliability in respect of meeting the technical and economic plant requirements during schedule generation resulted in reduced scrapping and reduced WIP stocks. The increase of productivity of the programmers results also in improved control of the area's KPIs. The following productivity in scheduling time could be increased at the individual production lines:

Production line Increase*
Pickling/cold rolling 60%
Galvanising 1 50%
Galvanising 2 50%
Batch Annealing 66%**

* in scheduling time  ** estimated

These results were made possible only by the interaction between the IT department of process design and Information System Areas, Production programme planning and PSI Metals as software supplier. The use of the PSImetals Planning Line Scheduler at ArcelorMittal Vega and the application of the planning philosophy of ArcelorMittal Flat Carbon South America have contributed to the integration of the plants of Vega and Tubarão.

PSImetals bei ArcelorMittal Vega in Brasilien

Automatische Anlagenprogramme für eine höhere Planungseffizienz

Zur Erhöhung der Produktivität bei der Anlagenprogrammplanung mehrerer Linien und zur automatischen Berücksichtigung wirtschaftlicher und technischer Restriktionen hat sich ArcelorMittal Vega für die Einführung des PSImetals Planning Line Schedulers entschieden.

Quelle: ArcelorMittal

Die Reihenfolgebildung an der Beize, den Kaltwalzen, der Galvanisierung und den Haubenglühen erfolgt nun stärker automatisiert. Mit der Einbettung der Lösung in die Planungsphilosophie von ArcelorMittal Flat Carbon Südamerika (FCSA) ist es gelungen, die Planungsprozesse noch stärker zu standardisieren.

Die Verarbeitung der auf dem Seeweg von ArcelorMittal Tubarão an Arcelor- Mittal Vega gelieferten Bänder erfolgt in nachfolgenden Prozessstufen. Durch das Beizen wird die Oxidschicht an der Oberfläche der warmgewalzten Coils in einem kontinuierlichen Prozess entfernt. Die Bänder werden dabei durch Schweißen verbunden und am Ende des Beizvorgangs besäumt. Die gebeizten Coils werden durch anschließendes Kaltwalzen in ihrer Dicke reduziert. Nach dem Walzen wird das Coil gemäß Kundenanforderungen auf zwei unterschiedliche Arten weiterbehandelt. Per Galvanisierung werden die Bänder mit einer feinen Zink- oder Zink-Eisenschicht beschichtet, um die Korrosionsresistenz des Stahls zu erhöhen. Bei unbeschichteten Erzeugnissen folgt die Wärmebehandlung in den Haubenglühen zur Wiederherstellung der mechanischen Eigenschaften des Stahls. Im anschließenden Dressierwalzen wird die Planheit korrigiert und die erwünschte Rauigkeit des Produktes eingestellt.

Technische Herausforderungen

Die einzelnen Anlagen auf den genannten Produktionsstufen bei ArcelorMittal Vega sind sehr komplex und unterscheiden sich durch technische Einschränkungen wie die Anlagenabmessungen bzgl. zu bearbeitender Materialien (Breite, Dicke, Länge), die Kapazität der Öfen oder Restriktionen der Schweißmaschine u. a., wodurch wiederum weitere Einschränkungen im Prozess entstehen. Darüber hinaus können die spezifischen Kundenanforderungen die Produktspezifikationen hinsichtlich Materialtypen, Oberflächenqualität und mechanischer Eigenschaften weiter einschränken. Um während der Produktionsplanung die anlagenbedingten Einschränkungen mit den verschiedenen Kundenanforderungen für das zu produzierende Material in Einklang zu bringen, werden je Anlage individuelle Produktionssequenzen, sogenannte Anlagenprogramme, benötigt.

Ausgangssituation Planung

Die bisherige Erzeugung derartiger Anlagenprogramme erfolgte durch Tabellenkalkulationen in Excel in Verbindung mit dem hauseigenen Produktionssteuerungssystem (GPAO). Dazu wurden aus der GPAO-Datenbank die Informationen über zu produzierende Coils in Excel importiert. Anschließend planten die Programmierer manuell die Reihenfolge des Materials unter Berücksichtigung der Sequenzierungsregeln für jede Linie.

Da Excel keine Systemeinschränkungen bei Regelverletzungen lieferte, benötigten die Programmierer langjährige Erfahrungen zum Erstellen praktikabler Produktionssequenzen.

Nach Erstellung der Anlagenprogramme wurden die Daten vom Programmierer manuell in das GPAO-System eingegeben: Coil für Coil, gemäß der in Excel geplanten Reihenfolge. Das GPAO-System sendete anschließend diese Programme als Produktionsvorgaben an das Level 2 System.

Sowohl die manuelle Reihenfolgebildung als auch die manuelle Dateneingabe waren sehr aufwändig. Da das gesamte Verständnis über den Betriebsablauf in den Köpfen der Programmierer verlief, war dieses Verfahren zudem sehr fehleranfällig und von geringer Produktivität.

Ziele und Projektmethodik

Höchstes Projektziel war daher die Automatisierung der Anlagenprogrammbildung für die Bereiche Beizen, Kaltwalzen, Galvanisierung und Haubenglühen. Mit dem Einsatz von PSImetals als neues Planungssystem sollten folgende Ziele erreicht werden:

  • Automatische Berücksichtigung anlagen-, prozess- und ablaufbedingter Einschränkungen bei der Reihenfolgebildung (u. a. Breiten, Dicken, Materialkombinationen je Qualität und Güteklasse, Maximal- und Minimalchargen je Auftrag/je Anlage)
  • Ermöglichen einer prioritätsgesteuerten Programmerzeugung unter Berücksichtigung von Zielen hinsichtlich Wirtschaftlichkeit, Produktion und Qualität
  • Unterstützung des Programmierers bei der Entscheidungsfindung durch Identifizierung kritischer Punkte (z. B. Warnhinweise bei Regelverletzungen)
  • Steigerung der Produktivität im Planungsteam durch vereinfachtes und schnelleres Erstellen von Anlagenprogrammen, stärker standardisierte Prozesse und weniger manuelle Eingriffe
  • Reduzierung von Durchlaufzeiten, Umlaufbeständen (WIP) und Fertigmaterialbeständen, sowie weniger Ausschuss
Anlagenspezifische Reihenfolgebildung bei AM Vega
Anlagenspezifische Reihenfolgebildung bei AM Vega am Beispiel der Galvanisierung. Quelle: AM Vega

Das Projekt wurde durch den Bereich „Integriertes Prozessdesign“ bei AM Vega unter Einbeziehung der Abteilungen Planung und Informatik koordiniert. Zum Erreichen standardisierter, standortübergreifender Planungsprozesse wurde darüber hinaus auch die Informatikabteilung des Rohmateriallieferanten AM Tubarão involviert. Die Projektplanung erfolgte unter Anwendung der DMADV-Methode für die Einführung neuer Produkte und/oder Prozesse (Design for Six Sigma).

Umsetzung mit PSImetals

Der PSImetals Planning Line Scheduler ermöglicht die Anlagenprogrammbildung für verschiedenste Produktionsanlagen in der Metallerzeugung. AM Vega erstellt mit PSImetals Simulationen und optimierte Reihenfolgepläne der zu verarbeitenden Materialien für die Produktionslinien Beize/Kaltwalzen, Galvanisierung 1 & 2 sowie Haubenglühen und berücksichtigt dabei unterschiedliche Sequenzierungsregeln je Anlage. Interne Softwaremodelle spiegeln die Regeln und Restriktionen der Produktion wider und ordnen diesen Bewertungskriterien zu. Über diese Prioritäten kann der Entscheidungsprozess gesteuert werden und es ist möglich, eine optimale Lösung für die Einsatzreihenfolge der zur produzierenden Coils vorzuschlagen.

Für jede Produktionsanlage erfolgte eine spezifische Systemkonfiguration unter Berücksichtigung der jeweiligen Besonderheiten:

  • Abmessungen der zu verarbeitenden Coils
  • Materialtypen, die die Anlage verarbeiten kann
  • physikalische Einschränkungen der Anlage
  • betriebsbedingte Festlegungen wie:

    • Priorität verspäteter oder verfrühter Aufträge (X Tage verspätet bzw. um Y Tage zu früh fertig gestellte)
    • Kombination von weiterzuverarbeitenden Coils (z. B. Besäumung von Coils)
    • Verknüpfungen von Materialtypen (z. B. Produktion von Materialien mit eingeschränkter Oberflächenqualität vor oder nach anderen Materialtypen)

Für die Planung der Beiz- und Galvanisierungsanlagen gibt der Nutzer an, welches Produktionsprogramm oder welchen Produktionsabschnitt er simulieren will. PSImetals liefert dann eine optimierte Reihenfolge, in der möglichst viele der zu befolgenden Regeln und Restriktionen berücksichtigt werden. Bei der Planung der Haubenglühen gibt der Planer die Materialmenge und die ungefähre Anzahl der zu produzierenden Chargen an. Das System findet dann die besten Coil-Kombinationen.

Für alle Anlagen berücksichtigt PSImetals die technischen und wirtschaftlichen Anforderungen und führt den Planer bei seiner Entscheidungsfindung. Werden Vorschriften oder Verfahrensweisen nicht eingehalten, erfolgt eine automatische Warnung. In einer speziellen Ansicht werden darüber hinaus alle kritischen Vorschriften aufgelistet, die vom Planer nicht eingehalten wurden.

Verschiedene grafische Oberflächen ermöglichen dem Nutzer, die Liste der vorgeschlagenen Coils zu analysieren und ggf. abzuändern:

  • Anzeige der Menge des geplanten Materials
  • Anzeige des zur Programmierung verfügbaren Materials
  • Hinzufügen, Entfernen oder Austauschen von Coils in Simulationen
  • Produktion eines oder mehrerer Coils festlegen
  • Erstellen neuer Simulationen

Nach Abschluss aller Änderungen kann der Planer das Anlagenprogramm zur Verarbeitung freigeben.

ArcelorMittal Vega produziert im Werk São Francisco do Sul (Brasilien) Flachstahl durch Kaltwalzen, Beizen und Galvanisieren. Quelle: ArcelorMittal

Integration mit dem MES-System

Das Produktionsplanungs- und Steuerungssystem GPAO (Level 3) übernimmt die Produktionsüberwachung, Positionsverfolgung für Läger und Kräne sowie die Materialverfolgung inklusive Planung, Produktionsablaufverfolgung und Qualitätsüberwachung. Das System ist sowohl mit dem PSImetals Planning Line Scheduler als auch mit den Automatisierungssystemen (Level 2) bei ArcelorMittal Vega integriert. PSImetals erhält vom GPAO die für die Planung verfügbaren Coils, optimiert deren Reihenfolge und sendet diese anschließend als Anlagenprogramme zurück. Diese Programme können im GPAO angezeigt, verfolgt und auch direkt durch den Nutzer geändert werden. So kann der Nutzer geplante Produktionssequenzen ändern oder auch stornieren. Stornierte Coils stehen dann in PSImetals automatisch für eine erneute Einplanung zur Verfügung.

Erreichte Ergebnisse

Mit der Einführung des PSImetals Planning Line Scheduler wurde die Erstellung der Anlagenprogramme stärker automatisiert, systematisiert und standardisiert. Diese Standardisierung führte zu 57 % mehr erzeugten Anlagenprogrammen in der gleichen Zeit, wodurch wiederum mehr Zeit für die Qualitätsanalyse der Produktionsanweisungen selbst zur Verfügung steht. Die hohe Zuverlässigkeit bei der Berücksichtigung der technischen und wirtschaftlichen Anforderungen während der Reihenfolgebildung resultierte außerdem in verringertem Materialausschuss und geringeren WIP-Lagerbeständen.

Der Produktivitätszuwachs im Planungsteam spiegelt sich auch in einer besseren Kontrolle der Bereichskennzahlen wider. Es wurden nachfolgende Produktivitätszuwächse in der Planungszeit für die nachfolgenden Produktionslinien erreicht:

Produktionslinie Zuwachs
Beizen/Kaltwalzen 60%
Galvanisierung 1 50%
Galvanisierung 2 50%
Haubenglühen 66%*

* geschätzt

Diese Ergebnisse wurden nicht zuletzt durch eine sehr gute Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Bereichen der Entwicklung von Techniken zur Produktionssteuerung (FTXD), der Produktionsprogrammplanung (CPV), der Informatik (FTPV) und PSI Metals als Software-Lieferanten erreicht. Der Einsatz des PSImetals Planning Line Schedulers bei AM Vega unter gleichzeitiger Anwendung der Planungsphilosophie von ArcelorMittal Flat Carbon South America hat darüber hinaus die Integration zwischen den Betrieben Vega und Tubarão verbessert.